Fall Elections 2016

A week ago, our chapter held our annual Executive Committee elections. It is a great honor for all of us to be elected and to serve the fraternity on the Executive Committee. We are pleased to introduce the newest members of our governing board.

President: Jason Sewell

Jason is a sophomore from Downingtown, PA majoring in Business with a minor in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. Jason has been on the Executive Committee for a year as Exchequer and is eager to serve the fraternity as President. On campus, he is a member of the Carolina Sports Business Club and is the fundraising chair for the Israel Committee through UNC Hillel.

Vice President: Avishai Halev

Avishai is a junior from Chapel Hill, NC double majoring in Applied Math and Physics. He served on the Executive Committee last semester as the New Member Educator and previously was the Parents and Alumni co-chair. Avishai works in UNC’s joint Applied Math/Marine Sciences Fluid Lab, studying simulations of bouncing water droplets and granular materials.

Scribe: Sam Killenberg

Sam is a sophomore from Chapel Hill, NC majoring in Journalism and Political Science. He was the fraternity’s Parents and Alumni co-chair this past semester, as well as a member of the social and housing committees. On campus, Sam writes for the state and national news desk of the Daily Tar Heel.

Exchequer: Mathew Leff

Matt is a freshman from just outside of Philadelphia, PA. He currently is majoring in Environmental Sciences and hopes to be accepted into the Biomedical Engineering program. Matt joined our fraternity this fall. He is a member of the UNC Hillel Israel Committee.

Rush Chairman: Daniel Barondes

Dan is a sophomore from Greenville, NC majoring in Global Studies with a Philosophy, Politics and Economics minor. Dan has served on the chapter’s rush and social committees for the past years. He is the Israel Committee Chair for UNC Hillel and works with the Global Oasis Project, which focuses on providing clean water to communities around the world.

House Manager: Nick Tavel

Nick is a sophomore from Bethpage, NY majoring in Business with a minor in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. He is a transfer student from Indiana University and joined AEPi in the fall as the president of his pledge class. On campus, Nick is a member of the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s portfolio management team.

Social Chairman: Michael Miller

Mike is a sophomore from Philadelphia, PA. He is majoring in Business with a concentration in investment banking, with a minor in Mathematical Decision Sciences. This is Mike’s second semester as social chairman. He manages a small investment fund with several peers and works with a start-up on campus.

New Member Educator: Matthew Sekuler

Matthew is a junior from Dix Hills, NY. He is a double major in Mathematical Decision Sciences, with a concentration in actuarial science, and Ancient and Medieval History. Last year, Matthew served as the Brotherhood Chair. He is currently studying abroad at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland.

Past President: Michael Tommer

Michael, who served as President last year, will continue to be on the Executive Committee this year as the Past President. He is a junior from Merrick, NY and a double major in Political Science and Interpersonal and Organizational Communication. Michael is a member of UNC Hillel’s Israel Committee.